April 07, 2014 – Another Amazing Week!

BUENOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!

This week has been truly a spiritually uplifting week. For our church (The Church of JEsus Christ of Latter Day Saints) we had General conference which is when our leaders teach doctrines to us that we can all understand both old and young. IT WAS SO AMAZING! I wrote many questions in small hope that some could slightly be answered but instead of a little I got SO MUCH. For the first time I didn’t fall asleep or get distracted! Miracles really do happen! 🙂 I thought it was so amazing that they said even little primary children could be missionaries! THAT MEANS YOU, AUSTIN AND SAMMY BOY! You can be just like your Auntie Hermana Gibbs! I highly advise everyone, whether they be of our faith or not to read these messages on lds.org in the next few weeks. They can truly help you improve your lives. Basically what truths we have are what you know to be true, and a bit more to add to your faith. I’m so blessed to be a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. I know it to be true and is the reason why I’m serving a mission.

Alright so now for the events of the week and maybe more information about the previous week. If I don’t get to the first week I’ll just write about it next week!!! 🙂 This week… we got locked out of our house.. soooo Brother W. broke the window of our study room so that we could get our keys. I have it ALL recorded on my camera so I’ll be sure to post it when I get home! ALSO! I GOT A SWEET ALPACA KNIT SWEATER! IT IS SOOOOOOOOOOO RAAAAAD! ME GUSTA MUCHO! Y my bag that I brought ripped after being out here for a WEEK. So I got a sweet Bolivian backpack.. which also ripped but thanks to my handy dandy sewing kit I SAVED IT! Thank you mammy, young womans and school for teaching me those skills!

Also my companion Hermana L. asked me about the meaning of ´Rolling in the Deep´ which I’m not too sure.. if you have a response that’d be awesome! TAMBIEN! I mean ALSO! We were teaching each other tongue twisters in English and Spanish, so if you know any tongue twisters besides the one about sally, the woodchuch or peter pipper let me know! and jokes too 🙂 I think it’s amazing how the lord will lead you to people. We stopped to buy pan (bread) and got a new investigator! We haven’t gotten to teach her yet but hopefully in the next week! I’ve already gotten blonder hair, gained more weight and have SWEET MISIONARY TANLINES! I’m babin´ it let me tell ya.. haha! Also in my mission we have a person who looks like Matthew Machanihay (sorry for the spelling but you know what i mean) and an elder that worked for Hollister or Abercrombie and Fitch. Lets just say, it’s super american in our mission. Haha! I don´t think that my family realizes how much the members, non members and investigators pray for them and also for my friends at home. You are loved and thought of often! I’ve taught my companion about the “Tim Tebow Moment” when something awesome happens, sooo basically it happens often. People here put ketchup and mayonnaise on EVERYTHING! It’s much different than the states but we put ranch and bbq sauce on everything soooo I guess that makes up the difference! 🙂

My Spanish is sort of improving! I’ve been told that my Spanish is better than almost all the gringos that have come into this area, so I guess you could say I’ve gone PRO. Just kidding. I’m still awful but I’m getting better!

I love you all. I pray for you all and I think of you all OFTEN! Like every day. ALSO I’m dead serious the name of my blog should have somewhere that says ´Barbie in Bolivia´ I have been called that by more than 3 people, strangers and members ALIKE. SOOOOO it’s official 🙂

DO WHAT IS RIGHT! You will never be disappointed. UNTIL NEXT WEEK! Thank you for all your love and support. It has helped me get through rough days and keeps me going! Your letters are what help me to know that I can keep going forward! LOVE YOU!

Hermana Gibbs, Barbie in Bolivia

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

